Skip to main content

Hearings examine local government role

From Monday, 22 June to Wednesday, 24 June 2020; the Royal Commission into National Natural Disaster Arrangements will hold hearings on the responsibilities of local governments in relation to natural disaster risk mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery.

Over the week, the Royal Commission expects to hear from witnesses from a number of councils including:

  • Adelaide Hills Council
  • The City of Swan
  • Clarence Valley Council
  • East Gippsland Shire Council
  • Eurobodalla Shire Council
  • Kangaroo Island Council
  • Moreton Bay Regional Council
  • Richmond Valley Council Shire of Dundas
  • Shoalhaven City Council
  • Snowy Monaro Regional Council
  • Southern Downs Regional Council
  • Sunshine Coast Council
  • Towong Shire Council
  • Wollondilly Shire Council

The Royal Commission also expects to hear evidence from the witnesses representing the following Local Government Associations:

  • Australian Local Government Association
  • Municipal Association of Victoria
  • Local Government Association of Queensland
  • Local Government NSW

The Royal Commission published an issues paper on Local governments and natural disasters, which raised a number of questions. The Commission has invited comment on the paper by Friday 19 June 2020.